TWAS-CNPq Postdoctoral Fellowship Programme

The World Academy of Sciences


The National Council for Scientific and Technological Development (CNPq) in Brasilia, Brazil, and TWAS offer up to 10 postdoctoral fellowships each year to young scientists from developing countries (other than Brazil) who wish to pursue postdoctoral research in natural sciences. 

Programme Details

  • TWAS-CNPq Postdoctoral Fellowships are tenable at research institutions in Brazil for a minimum period of six months to a maximum period of twelve months. They are awarded to scientists from developing countries (other than Brazil) to enable them to pursue postdoctoral research in the natural sciences.
  • A list of research institutions in Brazil where TWAS-CNPq Fellowships are tenable (CAPES-Conceito 5, 6 and 7) is available for download here: CAPES List.
  • CNPq will provide a standard monthly allowance which should be used to cover living costs, such as accommodation, food and health insurance. The monthly stipend will not be convertible into foreign currency.
  • Information about living conditions, such as possibilities of accommodation, transportation, and any other issues related to the candidate’s stay in Brazil must be obtained locally, directly from the host institution. Neither TWAS nor CNPq can provide this information.
  • The research activities are developed in Portuguese in most institutions, but communication will be mainly in English.


Applicants for these fellowships must meet the following criteria: 

  • Be a maximum age of 45 years on 31 December of the application year.
  • Must not hold a visa for permanent or temporary residency in Brazil or in a developed country.
  • Hold a PhD degree in a field of the natural sciences.
  • Be a regular employee in a developing country (other than Brazil) and hold a research assignment there.
  • Provide evidence that s/​he will return to her/​his home country on completion of the fellowship.
  • Not take up other assignments during the period of her/​his fellowship.
  • Provide an official acceptance letter from the host institution (please refer to the sample available at the CNPq weblink http://​www​.cnpq​.br/​w​e​b​/​g​u​e​s​t​/​c​h​a​m​a​d​a​s​-​p​u​b​licas) . Only CAPES-listed (levels 5, 6 or 7) Brazilian institutions are eligible (see point 2 above).
  • Prove knowledge of Portuguese or provide a certificate of proficiency in Spanish or English (if these languages are not the candidate’s mother tongue).
  • Have an updated Curriculum Vitae on CNPq’s Lattes Platform (see note on online applications below).
  • Present a detailed research plan agreed by her/​his host supervisor.
  • Be financially responsible for any accompanying family members.

To Apply

  • Applications to the TWAS-CNPq Fellowships must be submitted online only.
  • The call for applications where you will find the programme details, eligibility criteria, required documents and certificates as well as the online application form is available via http://​www​.cnpq​.br/​w​e​b​/​g​u​e​s​t​/​c​h​a​m​a​d​a​s​-​p​u​b​licas
  • Applicants must be aware that CNPq and TWAS will not accept applications submitted by any other means except via the online application form.
  • The call for applications for 2014 is currently open and will remain open until 28 July 2014. No applications will be accepted after the deadline. Therefore, it is recommended to submit your electronic application as early as possible.
  • Incomplete applications will not be accepted.
  • Applicants should submit the Acceptance Letter from a CAPES-listed institution to CNPq when applying. Without preliminary acceptance, the application will not be considered for selection.
  • Queries concerning the call for applications to the TWAS-CNPq Fellowships programmes should be directed to: twas.​ascin@​cnpq.​br
  • Applicants should be aware that they can apply for only one fellowship per year. With the exception of theVisiting Scientists programme, all other fellowship programmes offered by TWAS and OWSD are mutually exclusive.

Posted on .

JavaScript is required to reveal this email address.

Post a Grant →