INSA medal for young scientists

Indian National Science Academy


INSA Medal for Young Scientists instituted in 1974 by the Indian National Science Academy and awarded annually are intended to honour talented young Indian scientists in recognition of their outstanding contributions in any branch of science or technology coming within the purview of the Academy. The research carried out in India by the nominees will be taken into consideration for the award.

Any citizen of India who has not attained the age of 35 years on December 31, of the year preceding the year of award, shall be eligible for the award. Only those born on or after 1 January 1983 are eligible for consideration in the year 2018


Candidates may be nominated by Fellows of the Indian National Science Academy, previous recipients of INSA Medal for Young Scientists, national scientific societies, university faculties, post-graduate departments or research institutions.
A nomination will remain valid for consideration for 3 years or the eligibility age whichever expires earlier. However, a fresh nomination (only once) can be made, if the nominee has not yet crossed the age bar. A nomination shall be made in the prescribed format (Annexure‑I) along with all supporting documents. 

To Apply

Nominations, one hard copy and a soft copy in MS-Word only (in a CD/​through e‑mail at ytinsa@​gmail.​com), must reach the
Executive Director, Indian National Science Academy,
Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg,
New Delhi-110002
latest by October 31, 2017. Nominations, which are not complete or received after the due date, shall not be considered

Candidates recommended by the Sectional Committees will be invited to present their research work for consideration of the Committee which will meet in April 2018. The candidates thus called for the presentation are entitled for II AC return rail fare and local conveyance as applicable. Reimbursement will be made on production of tickets.
The evaluation and recommendation of the Sectional Committees are considered by the Council of the Academy which makes the final selection.

Posted on .

JavaScript is required to reveal this email address.

Post a Grant →